Life is fragile. God is merciful

It has been a week now since I had a car accident. It was my first one and kind of a scare, so it has made me think a lot, mostly revolving around two things:

My life is fragile.

My Lord is a good and merciful God.

 I was on my way to work last Wednesday on a back-road in Valley Center. The road was wet from a drizzle, which we hadn’t had in a while so the road was slippery from the oil. Going around a curve I slid and lost control of the car. The car skidded sideways into a ditch and somehow flipped over on end and crashed onto a chain-link fence. I climbed out of the car from the back door. I looked at my poor car, nosed in the dirt and lying on a fence with the engine idling (I was coasting) and ran up to a nearby house to call my dad who lived about five miles away.  My injuries were minimal, just a cut on my face and a jammed finger (thought I had back and neck pain later). One of my dad’s neighbors, “Bill” happened to drive by and stopped to help, and another gentleman who lived nearby happened to have a backhoe and chains and pulled the car out. It was beat-up, but it still runs and drives. Even all the headlights work even though it nosed into the ground. The door has since been repaired. Other repairs are on hold for now. 

God totally saved my life. In the moment I thought I was gonna die and wrap around an oak tree or something. So much could have gone wrong. One of my back-doors doesn’t open – I could have flipped on the other side, so I’d be trapped in there. I could have hit another car. I could have run into a big oak tree nearby. I could have not crashed over the oak saplings that slowed the car down before hitting the fence. The car could have blown up or totaled. I could have died or been seriously injured.

The first self-aware/God-aware thought I had was that God could have killed me – but He didn’t. Through the event itself, God spoke. He proved to me He is not only able to save my life – but does. He’s letting me live on this earth a little longer, until whatever day He plans that I see Him face-to-face. It may sound crazy, but it encouraged me, showing that God must want me alive for some purpose, for further service. My feelings are with the Apostle Paul, who wrote in Philippians 1:21-24

For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. But if I am to live on in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me; and I do not know which to choose. But I am hard-pressed from both directions, having the desire to depart and be with Christ, for that is very much better; yet to remain on in the flesh is more necessary for your sake.

Leave a Reply

